Wednesday, May 16, 2012

CPR Certification Courses: 4 Types

The procedure that is applied on a person who stops breathing or who develops irregular heart function due to an ailment is known as Cardiopulmonary resuscitation or CPR. Getting a CPR certification is something to seriously think about. CPR saves lives. Nowadays many professions are making it compulsory to acquire a CPR certification.

Adult CPR certification includes primary level of training for those who want general CPR skills. There are a number of courses offered and many courses provide knowledge on how to use automated external defibrillator (AED) and how to provide first aid, as these two skills go together.

Generally there are 4 types of CPR certification courses:

• Level A CPR:

The CPR level A is an all-encompassing course that will bestow you with the required knowledge to apply CPR on adults in emergency situations.

This course includes the following topics:

* Understanding risk factors of diseases and learning which factors can and cannot be prevented.

* Recognizing the main symptoms of cardiac arrest.

* Knowing the benefits of proper positioning for a recovery patient.

* Knowing signs and symptoms of choking and how to provide the required first aid.

* Knowing how to do CPR on adult patients.

• Level A CPR and AED:

Other than the topics included in Level A CPR, this course covers some additional topics. It covers learning about the safe use of AED, need for AED's, how the human heart functions and how to use the AEDs properly in a cardiac arrest victim.

These AEDs are small devices that are light in weight. They can record ventricular fibrillation (VF) by looking at a person's heart rhythm, which is known as sudden cardiac arrest.

• Level C CPR:

Like CPR Level A this is also an all-inclusive course that will provide you with the knowledge to perform CPR on infants, children and adults in case of emergencies.

The following topics are covered here:

* Knowing the risk factors for diseases and the factors that can and cannot be prevented.

* Recognizing the sign of cardiac arrest.

* Knowing how to apply CPR for a child or infant.

* Identifying the signs of choking in an adult, child or infant and knowing what to do.

* Knowing how to correctly place the victim in the recovery position.

• Level C CPR and AED:

This course covers the topics dealt in Level C and also teaches why we need AEDs and how to use AEDs safely on infants and children. It also teaches about the workings of the heart and the correct way of using AEDs on victims of cardiac arrest.

Assessment of practical Competency: You will be assessed based on your skills and competency levels during the course. All those who are able to prove their abilities in applying the required skills at the end of the course will be issued their CPR certification.

All courses some along with a course manual. This article would have cleared any doubts you may have had about the type of CPR training you want to attend. So enroll now and get started.

No comments:

Post a Comment